Getting lucky in Canberra

A few days ago, I published a post on some of the things that have made a positive impression upon us since we arrived in Canberra.

It wasn’t the kind of list to construct a tourist weekend around. Rather, it detailed all the things that make Canberra so liveable for new migrants – you know, boring but essential stuff such as bike paths, bus services, libraries and so on.

The author standing in front of a large 'Canberra' sign.

Welcome home to Canberra! A warm welcome awaits Mrs CBRbound.

At the end of the post, I concluded that, while the views from Mount Ainslie may be spectacular, the swimming creeks exciting and the tourist attractions almost endless, it was in the ‘real life’ categories that Canberra had really won us over.

A few hours after posting the article, I got a short but important response to it on my personal Facebook page, where I also share my posts. It went like this: “Well said! I think we struck gold when we got Canberra! it’s a great place.”

It might not seem like much, except that this comment came from my wife, Mrs CBRbound.

I’ve written a lot in this blog about the weight of responsibility that comes with relocating your whole family to a new place — the soul-searching and the moments of occasional panic when you wonder if things are actually going to work out. But every now and then, a throwaway comment from the kids, or an off-hand remark from your partner, can reassure you that yes, you did the right thing and that everybody is on board with this new adventure.

I should clarify that my wife and I don’t usually communicate with each other via Facebook. It’s just that, this past two weeks, she’s been back in the UK visiting her parents, catching up with friends and telling everyone how things are going.

There’ll be those who hug her tightly and say “come back and visit again soon.” There’ll be those who say: “It sounds wonderful, tell me all about it.” And then there’ll be those who say: “I can’t believe you’ve moved so far away. I’ll never understand that decision.”

They’ll all affect her in different ways, and each provides the perfect moment for her to get homesick and to decide that maybe Canberra was a wild folly that needs to be undone, as quickly as possible.

Except she hasn’t. Right there, among the people and places she misses the most, she didn’t dwell on what we’ve left behind; she endorsed the decision we made to become Canberrans as the right one, a good one; in fact, a fantastic one. And I agree.

She comes home today. She’ll be weary from the long flight from London, and sad to have left our loved ones behind all over again. But there’ll be a big Canberra welcome awaiting her, and a long and happy future in the place we’ve chosen as out new home.

7 thoughts on “Getting lucky in Canberra

  1. Steve says:

    You know that, as part of your family, we can’t help selfishly wishing you hadn’t moved so far away. To counterbalance this, as people who love you, we can only rejoice that the decision you made is continuing to prove the correct one. As I write this I have beside me the photo book you sent to your mother of your first four months in Canberra. It breaks our hearts not being a part of your new lives but makes us so happy to see the fun you are having. When I go out to work each day and experience a life in Britain I can only endorse that you have made the right decision for you and your family. Finally, the miles may limit the accessibility but they can in no way diminish the love.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Steve, that means a lot. It’s great to be finding our feet, but we still think of ‘home’ often. Hopefully the photo book will help you both share our adventure a little more.

      Like

  2. Trish says:

    It makes me so proud – as though I made this city like I made breakfast this morning – to read how much you and your family are loving it here.

    Like

  3. How lovely it much have been to see that comment from Mrs CBR Bound. I hope you enjoy our winter – it should be a breeze for y’all (as Americans would say) and I hope it is.

    Like

    • Well, in theory, it should be a breeze, but the lax attitude of Canberra builders to things like insulation, double-glazing and even gaps around door-frames, means we are colder than we should be. I learnt the other day that ANZAC Day is the official ‘it’s okay, you can turn the heating on now’ day. We cracked. It’s already on.

      Liked by 1 person

      • How funny CBR … I complained about Sydney that way, when I moved here. I told my parents I was so much warmer here because houses were better designed, better heated for the cold, than Sydney’s homes! It’s all relative I suppose.

        As for the Anzac Day rule … I say go with comfort. There’s nothing worse than being miserable because your cold. If you can solve it with a switch, then solve it!!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment